Setting the Standard for Quality in Healthcare Interpreting


Get Certified,
Get Connected,
Get Informed.


Meaningful Health Care.


box-1 box-2 box-3 box-4


Healthcare Interpreters

The CoreCHI™ and CHI™ are the nation's highest certification credentials available to healthcare interpreters


Hospitals &
Healthcare Providers

Healthcare providers choose CCHI certified interpreters - CoreCHI™ and CHI™ - as their preferred means of ensuring language access. Join us and demonstrate your commitment to quality care and patient safety.


Language Service Providers

Healthcare providers depend on you to have trained and qualified interpreters. It is just smart business to validate your hiring practices and training with CCHI credentials.


Training Providers

Healthcare interpreters and providers choose CCHI accredited continuing education programs. CCHI accreditation ensures your program's credibility and visibility.


Certification Commission for Healthcare Interpreters

Testing Centers & Schedule


Candidates can schedule their CoreCHI™ examination or CHI™ examination once they have received their official Notice to Schedule email. Each examination has a separate Notice to Schedule that serves as your Admission Ticket to the examination. Please do not schedule your examination until you have received the Notice to Schedule for that examination.

Testing Schedule for CoreCHI™ Examination

The CoreCHI™ examination is available all year round.  You can schedule an exam at any time as soon as you receive your Notice to Schedule in the email. To search available sites, click CCHI Core Certification Healthcare Interpreter Exam™ (CoreCHI™) and then enter your zip code to find the CoreCHI™ sites closest to you.

To start the certification process, please click here to create and submit your application.

Testing Schedule for CHI™ Examination

The CHI™ performance exam requires a special set up for undisturbed interpretation, spoken aloud. CCHI makes special arrangements for private testing rooms during certain testing "windows" each quarter for that exam. This exam is not administered outside of the testing “windows” listed below. To schedule your exam is call (844) 704-1487 and speak with a scheduling agent who has access to every test center's schedule. All appointments are on a first come first serve basis, so it's advisable to schedule before the testing window starts.

Next CHI™ Exam Testing Dates:

  • October 16 - November 6, 2017


2018 CHI™ Exam Testing Dates:

  • January 22 - February 12, 2018
  • April 16 - May 7, 2018
  • July 23 - August 13, 2018
  • October 15 - November 5, 2018


Login to your Profile here to pay for the CHI™ exam or to check your Communications tab for the Notice to Schedule.

CCHI test centers for the CHI™ examination are located in the following states and cities. You may also search for test center locations online - click here - by choosing the relevant exam.

Most up-to-date information about these test sites is in your CHI Notice to Schedule. If you do not see your city on this list, call our scheduling line and ask if a center is available near you.

  • Arkansas: Fort Smith
  • Arizona:  Avondale, Nogales
  • California:  Beaumont, Carmichael, Millbrae, Roseville, Van Nuys, Walnut
  • Colorado:  Centennial, Colorado Springs, Glenwood Springs, Greeley
  • Connecticut:  Hartford, Newington, Woodbridge
  • Florida:  Fort Lauderdale; Jacksonville, Orlando, Sanford, Tampa
  • Georgia:  Jonesboro, Lilburn, Marietta
  • IllinoisCarbondale, Chicago, Jacksonville, Lombard
  • Indiana: Evansville, Indianapolis
  • Kansas:  Manhattan, Overland Park
  • Kentucky:  Highland Heights
  • Maine: South Portland (CoreCHI™ exam at this time)
  • Massachusetts:  Holyoke
  • Michigan:  Ann Arbor, Grand Rapids, Dowagiac
  • Minnesota:  Eagan, Mankato
  • Mississippi:  Meridian
  • Nevada: Las Vegas
  • New MexicoAlbuquerque
  • New York:  Bronx, Buffalo, New York City
  • North Carolina:  Cary, Castle Hayne, Charlotte, Greensboro, Wilmington
  • Ohio:  Blue Ash, Cincinnati, Columbus, Fairfield
  • OregonGrants Pass, Klamath Falls, Medford, Portland
  • Pennsylvania: Bethlehem
  • South Carolina: Charleston, Greenville
  • South Dakota: Rapid City
  • Tennessee:  Memphis
  • Texas: Austin, Beaumont, Corpus Christi, Dallas, El Paso, Harlingen, Houston, Laredo, Port Lavaca, San Antonio, Strafford, Wichita Falls
  • Virginia:  Alexandria, Annandale, Galax, Hampton, Roanoke, Woodbridge
  • Washington:  Bellingham, Wenatchee
  • Wisconsin: La Crosse, Madison, Oshkosh